Madame De Maintenon: The Secret Wife Of Louis Xiv

Author: Veronica Buckley
Homepage_9780747580980

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $37.50(NZD)
  • :
  • : 9780747580980
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • :
  • :
  • : May 2008
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : 75.0
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : Veronica Buckley
  • :
  • : Hardback
  • : 7-Aug
  • :
  • :
  • : 944.033092
  • :
  • :
  • : 480
  • :
  • : Illustrations, ports., map
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9780747580980
9780747580980

Description

Tells the story of Francoise d'Aubigne's progress from governess to royal mistress and thence, in secret, to the compromised position of Louis' uncrowned Queen. This book presents a rags-to-riches tale of the marquise de Maintenon that reveals each layer of the vibrant and shocking world that was France in the age of Louis XIV.

Promotion info

For fans of Antonia Fraser's Marie Antoinette, Stella Tillyard's Aristocrats, Amanda Foreman's Georgiana and Paula Byrne's Perdita Christina, Queen of Sweden sold in Holland, Sweden, Italy, Denmark and Germany and received stunning reviews There has been no biography of Madame de Maintenon in English since the 1970s

Reviews

'Ms Buckley has written an admirably balanced life with a wealth of biographical detail and great sympathy for her subject' The Economist Praise for Christina, Queen of Sweden: 'A stunning debut. Veronica Buckley writes with immense style, vitality and great humanity. As compelling as the most riveting of novels' Alison Weir 'An impressive first biography ... Fascinating' Antonia Fraser, The Times

Author description

Veronica Buckley was born in New Zealand. Wide-ranging studies in several countries led to her work in diverse fields from music to the computing industry. After doctoral research in history at Oxford, she turned to full-time writing. She lives in Vienna with her husband, writer Philipp Blom.